During my tenure at TEVET, I’ve become our resident HUBZone SME. Throughout this time, I’ve seen the value that the HUBZone program has brought to our community. In today’s blog, I’m covering everything HUBZone.


What is the HUBZone program? Why does it exist?

HUBZone stands for Historically Underutilized Business Zone Empowerment Contracting program. The HUBZone program is one of several managed by the Small Business Administration (SBA) to help support small businesses across the country. The U.S Federal Government has a goal of awarding 3% of all dollars to HUBZone companies. This total spend goal has never been met since the program’s first award in 1999.

The HUBZone program provides small businesses located in areas of high unemployment, low income, and high poverty with contracting opportunities in the form of sole-sources and set-asides. The primary objectives of the program are job creation and increasing capital investments in distressed areas.

When you purchase from TEVET, you are helping to create jobs and opportunities for HUBZone residents in our local community (headquartered in East Tennessee), the communities that our remote employees reside in across the nation, and the communities local to our customers.


The HUBZone Program in Tennessee

  • 146 HUBZone Certified Small Businesses
  • 4,750 + jobs
  • $896 million dollars + in annual revenue


HUBZone Requirements

For a business to qualify as a HUBZone, they must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a small business
  • Be at least 51 percent owned and controlled by U.S. citizens, a Community Development Corporation, an agricultural cooperative, a Native Hawaiian organization, or an Indian tribe
  • Have its principal office located in a HUBZone
  • Have at least 35 percent of its employees live in a HUBZone

The full qualification criteria can be found in  Title 13 Part 126 Subpart B of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).



Per the 2018’s National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), all HUBZone Maps will stay the same until January 1, 2020. Since the passing of 2018’s NDAA legislation, the SBA has extended this timeline.

Currently, all HUBZone’s that were previously located in re-designated areas on December 12th, 2017 now have their re-designation period extended to Dec 31, 2021. All HUBZone’s in qualified census tracts and non-metropolitan counties will maintain their designations through December 2021 as well.

Also, there are extensive changes currently in the federal register as a proposed rule. These can be found here. The SBA has extended comment to these proposed changes through February 14th, 2019.



The TEVET Difference

TEVET takes the HUBZone classification seriously, for every dollar spent with TEVET, we take a portion of it and put it to meaningful use through our multiple socioeconomic engagements. But it doesn’t end with financial donations. We also take it upon ourselves to volunteer with the organizations that impact our communities.


We also believe in “Country, Customer, and Community.” Did you know that economically distressed areas – essentially HUBZone areas – often have high veteran populations? As an SDVOSB, we take a “veteran first” approach to hiring. Not only does their foundation of service strike a chord with TEVET culture, but they also know what it means to be a part of something bigger than themselves.



I hope this was a useful introduction to such an important program that TEVET participates in. I’m happy to answer any questions you may have about the HUBZone Program. Feel free to contact me directly!



TEVET and the Community


Author: MaKinna Traylor – Marketing Manager and Business Development, TEVET